Chelsea Nelsonby Chelsea Nelson
Digital Marketing Director

We are excited to do a weekly feature on the honorees for the upcoming Celebration of Service Event, coming up on May 27! At this annual event, United Way of Salt Lake has the great privilege to honor outstanding individuals and organizations in our neighborhoods and communities. These people and organizations are truly making a difference, proving every day what it means to LIVE UNITED. The honorees of the 2015 Celebration of Service awards are committed to working with United Way of Salt Lake to solve our communities’ toughest challenges. They engage their will, passion, expertise, and resources to improve lives and build a stronger community for us all.

We hope you will join us in celebration of their
contributions at this fun and inspiring event!


Mona BurtonThis week, we are thrilled to announce the Volunteer of the Year: Mona Burton.

The volunteer of the year is an enthusiastic individual who shows commitment to our community and United Way of Salt Lake’s mission through extraordinary volunteer service.

United Way of Salt Lake is fortunate to have Mona Burton as one of its most dedicated volunteers. Mona is a former Chair of United Way of Salt Lake’s Board of Directors and has been a member since 2003. During her tenure, she has been a contributing member of 13 committees, including serving as chair of the Nominating Committee, Governance and Ethics Committee, Tocqueville Society, and others. Over the years, she’s provided legal counsel to United Way of Salt Lake. Most recently, Mona was instrumental in helping UWSL navigate the legal components of drafting the country’s first-ever Pay for Success partnership for early childhood education. As a founding member of United Way of Salt Lake Women’s Leadership Council and a member of Tocqueville Society, Mona is especially dedicated to helping young women get inspired to go to college and pursue higher education.

Mona BurtonWe are thrilled to honor Mona for her devotion to the community with our 2015 Volunteer of the Year award.

Mona Burton 2Mona Burton 1